Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop

8 Buckeyes, including QB Miller, to be captains

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) — An unprecedented eight players — including star quarterback Braxton Miller — will serve as captains for No. 2 Ohio State this season.

SPT-osufb8p-5 Sidd

Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller scores a touchdown against Nebraska on Saturday in Columbus. By winning the highest-scoring game at Ohio Stadium since 1950, OSU (6-0, 2-0 Big Ten) remained the conference’s last unbeaten team, matched its win total from last season, and rose four spots to No. 8 in the AP poll. But more important to coach Urban Meyer, the night represented the first time his vision for the Buckeyes’ no-huddle spread offense began to come to life.

Joining Miller are offensive linemen Corey Linsley and Jack Mewhort, defensive backs C.J. Barnett and Christian Bryant, linebacker Ryan Shazier, wide receiver Corey Brown and backup quarterback Kenny Guiton.

Linsley, Mewhort, Barnett, Bryant, Brown and Guiton are seniors and Miller and Shazier are juniors.

Coach Urban Meyer said he has never had so many designated captains. It is also the most captains in Ohio State's 124 years of football, eclipsing the previous high of six in 2010.


Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn