Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop

Perry wins Main Event Series race at Shady Bowl

Bud Perry of Edgerton took home the top prize in the Main Event Racing Series feature race Saturday at Shady Bowl Speedway.


Bud Perry was the winner of the 75 lap Main Event Series feature for the late models. (PHOTO | SHADYBOWL)

Perry, a former Shady Bowl track champion, set the fast qualifying time for the late model event.

In the 75-lap feature, Scott Drake set the tone early as he led the first 24 laps.

However, Drake had to leave the race with an oil leak that brought out the caution flag. On the restart, veteran driver John Stroble of Urbana was the leader. Stroble led until lap 32, when Perry made his way to the lead.

Perry then took control. Rich Rohrer made a late threat, but Perry held on for the win.

Following Perry and Rohrer in the top five were Harold Fair Jr., Mike Stacy and Marcus Malcuit.

Local drivers in the field were Drew Charlson in sixth, Stroble seventh, Josh Smith in 11th, Brock Coyer in 13th, Scott Drake in 14th, Curt Frazier in 17th and Gregg Jackson in 18th.

The street stocks, tuners and compacts were also in action.

The street stock main saw Richard Roush and Mike Shaffer swap the lead for the first 11 laps.

Rodney Roush charged to the front, passing his brother Richard for the lead. Rodney paced the field the rest of the way to post the win.

Fast qualifier Ricky Young worked his way up to second at the checker, but failed to report to the scales after the race and was disqualified. Josh Sage, Scott Sullenberger, Richard Roush and Mike Shaffer rounded out the top five. Rodney Roush was the dash winner, with Mike Shaffer claiming the heat win.

In tuner action, Chad Small II, Terry Eaton and Gary Eaton waged an impressive battle. At the finish line, Chad Small II held off Gary Eaton by less than a foot to claim his first win. Terry Eaton was third, with Ron Masters fourth and Holli Eaton fifth. The dash was won by Terry Eaton. Chad Small II won the heat race.

In compact action, defending track champion Matt Jackson picked up the feature win. Chris Prater was a close second, followed by Jay Lakins, Nicholas Meade and Steve Anderson. Lakins was the dash winner, with Meade winning the heat.

Racing is back at Shady Bowl this week, with action starting at 7 p.m. Saturday.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn