Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop

Stieber brothers win league championships for OSU

The Stieber brothers gave another stellar performance and continued to lead Ohio State’s wrestling team at the Big Ten wrestling championships Saturday and Sunday in Champaign, Ill.


Ohio State’s Hunter Stieber reacts after beating Iowa’s Matt Ballweg for the 141 pound championship during the Big Ten wrestling tournament Sunday in Champaign, Ill. (AP PHOTO | BRADLEY LEEB)

Logan and Hunter Stieber each won individual Big Ten titles as the Buckeyes finished fourth as a team with 109.5 points. The Buckeyes had a total of nine placers.

The Stieber brothers, along with Big Ten placers Nikko Triggas (125), Ian Paddock (149), Josh Demas (157), Mark Martin (165), Nick Heflin (174), C.J. Magrum (184) and Andrew Campolattano (195), qualified to the NCAA national championships March 21-23 in Des Moines, Iowa.

Penn State won its third consecutive Big Ten tournament title with 151 points. The Nittany Lions placed all 10 of their wrestlers, including four champions. Minnesota took second with 139 points and 10 placers and Iowa was third with 133.5 points.

Read complete story in Monday's Examiner. CLICK HERE to subscribe today!


Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn