Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop

Haisley leads BHS swimmers in Southwest District Classic


Josh Haisley placed in the top 10 of four events to lead Bellefontaine’s swim team in the Southwest District Classic at Wright State University last weekend.

The two-day meet featured some of the top swimmers in southwest Ohio.

Haisley accumulated 55 points. He finished third in the 50 freestyle (23.97), fourth in the 100 butterfly (59.13), sixth in the 200 individual medley (2:17.94) and eighth in the 100 freestyle (53.49).

Isaiah Brady also had a strong showing with 23 points. He placed seventh in the 50 freestyle (24.74) and eighth in the 100 butterfly (1:01.86).

Evan Snapp contributed 16 points, taking eighth in the 100 backstroke (1:06.31) and 12th in the 200 freestyle (2:07.79).

For the girls, Jessica Miller led the way by recording 36 points. She was sixth in the 50 freestyle (27.02), eighth in the 100 backstroke (1:14.07), 10th in the 100 freestyle (1:00.92) and 12th in the 100 breaststroke (1:19.66).

Emma Smith tallied 26 points. She was 10th in the 50 freestyle (27.81), seventh in the 500 freestyle (6:52.36) and 10th in the 100 breaststroke (1:19.11).

Shelby Phillips was 11th in the 200 freestyle (2:26.41) and 15th in the 100 freestyle (1:05.19) to record eight points and Katie Vetorino added five points with a 12th-place effort in the 100 butterfly (1:24.72).

“Our swimmers showed great strength in posting strong times in such a highly competitive meet,” said Bellefontaine head coach Sharon Gase. “Many swimmers have continued to swim personal-best times with our girls 400 freestyle relay of Katie Vetorino, Shelby Phillips, Emma Smith and Jessica Miller dropping another four seconds to create a 10-second time drop in the past two weeks.”

For Ben Logan, Sarah Mally placed sixth in the 100 butterfly (1:11.33) and 15th in the 50 freestyle (28.99) and Camille Watson was 15th in the 100 backstroke (1:22.25).

The Chiefs are back in action tonight with a home meet at the Hilliker Y. Swimming begins at 6:30 p.m.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn