Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop

An American friend in Paris


Diana and Chuck Gamble of DeGraff made friends in Paris with a man from Colorado who took this photo of them with the Examinerat the Eiffel Tower and emailed it to them upon their return, when they discovered they’d lost their camera holding more than 500 irreplaceable photos. The Gambles toured Paris with Benjamin Logan graduate Heather Mortimer-Charoy, a resident of Paris. They traveled by train to Clermont-Ferrand, located in the volcanic region in south-central France, and onto Geneva, Switzerland, before returning to Paris.

Last Updated on Friday, 25 October 2013

Hits: 791

Reading buddies


Officer Blake Kenner of the Bellefontaine Police Department, right, reads a book with Bellefontaine Elementary School student Reagan Standley. Officer Kenner, along with Officer Roger Hager and Sgt. Ed Peters, each read to students in Christa Hammond’s first-grade classroom on a weekly basis through a new initiative that was started this school year. Reagan is a daughter of Bellefontaine Police Chief Brandon Standley, and Mrs. Hammond worked with the police chief to set up the arrangement. “The kids love reading with the officers each week,” Mrs. Hammond said. (PHOTO | BELLEFONTAINE CITY SCHOOLS)

Last Updated on Friday, 25 October 2013

Hits: 987

Rainy day parade


Ridgemont High School hosted their homecoming parade Wednesday evening, which concluded at the football field, where a powder puff football game was played. The Gophers will play Upper Scioto Valley for their homecoming football game at 7 p.m. Friday. (PHOTO | TRACI GRAY-MILLER)

Last Updated on Thursday, 24 October 2013

Hits: 796

Ridgemont royalty


Ridgemont High School marks its homecoming with a game Friday against Upper Scioto Valley. Members of the court are, from left: freshman attendants Ashley Robinson and Cameron Smith; sophomores Taylor Hardin and Levi Allen; queen and king candidates Taylor Knapp and Chris Weyant, Katie Furer and Zane Connolly and Sidney Arseneau and Eddie Lightner; and juniors Autumn Critchfield and Ryan Johnson. A coronation ceremony begins at 6:45 p.m. Saturday at Ridgemont Elementary School in Mt. Victory followed by a dance from 7 to 10 p.m. (KENTON TIMES PHOTO | DAN ROBINSON)

Last Updated on Thursday, 24 October 2013

Hits: 804



Landscaping around Brown Park along east Sandusky Avenue received an early coating of snow today as morning snow showers dusted the landscape throughout Logan County, the first of the fall season. (EXAMINER PHOTO | NATE SMITH)

Last Updated on Wednesday, 23 October 2013

Hits: 738

Laker pride


Indian Lake Middle School teacher Chris Anders, right, and students cheer during a recent pep rally at the school during spirit week hosted in support of the fall sports teams. Students also showed their Laker spirit throughout the week by dressing for theme days like Hawaiian Day, Twin Day, Western Day and Laker Day. (PHOTO | INDIAN LAKE SCHOOLS)

Last Updated on Wednesday, 23 October 2013

Hits: 971

Hands-on training


Indian Lake Schools employees Robin Bruce, left, and Deb Metzger practice CPR skills learned Monday during a staff in-service for CPR and basic first aid that was attended by staff from the high school, middle school and elementary. In case of an emergency, the staff members at Indian Lake Schools have the necessary skills to respond quickly, school officials said. (PHOTO | INDIAN LAKE SCHOOLS)

Last Updated on Wednesday, 23 October 2013

Hits: 515

Snowy October


Logan County Board of Developmental Disabilities Superintendent Saul Bauer created a snowman today that greeted employees at the 1851 W. State Route 47 facility. (PHOTO SUBMITTED)

Last Updated on Wednesday, 23 October 2013

Hits: 695