Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop

Halloween fun


ABOVE: Friends, from left front, Morgan Henry, 10, Lily Palmer, 9, and Ally Barker, 9, dressed as a hamburger, hot dog and slice of pizza, respectively, are joined by Maria Stolly, back, as a Minion from the movie Despicable Me stop for a laugh at a tall demon (not pictured) as they trick or treat along Allison Road in Bellefontaine on Thursday evening. BELOW: Vada Pope, 5, dressed as a scarecrow, reacts after taking apiece of candy from a skeleton decoration at the Dakota Road home of Peter and Tricia Stolly. See additional Halloween photos in Friday's Examiner. (EXAMINER PHOTOS | REUBEN MEES) 







Last Updated on Friday, 31 October 2014

Hits: 1392

WL-S cheerleaders raise funds for cancer association

DSC 6322

The West Liberty-Salem Schools varsity and junior varsity cheerleaders presented a $2,797 check to Neil Evans from the Cancer Association of Champaign County during half-time of the school’s final regular season home football game. The funds were the result of activities the cheerleaders held leading up to the Oct. 17 Pink Out game. Pictured, from the left, are Dawn Wilbur, Neil Evans, Grace Woodruff, Bryanna Floyd, Emily Hess, Maverick Aldo, Victoria Secor, Brooke Markin, Blake Cupps, Karlie Wilbur, Catrina Shank, Hayden Erwin, Karli Daniels, Taylor Levan, Alexa Smith, Celeste Herliny, Claire Harr, and Megan Harrah. 




Last Updated on Friday, 31 October 2014

Hits: 1097

CCS taps first NHS class


Calvary Christian School tapped its first National Honor Society inductees, including, from left: juniors Daniel Salmonowicz, Scot Brunson, Austin Durnell, Nathalie Thompson, Maddie McGillis, Makayla Hartley and Stephen Smithers. 

Last Updated on Thursday, 30 October 2014

Hits: 1241

South Dakota or bust


The Logan County Friendly Senior Center recently sponsored a trip to South Dakota, with the Examiner in tow. The trip included stops in Chicago, the Wisconsin Dells and Mitchell, where the Corn Palace was explored. While in South Dakota, trippers visited the Badlands, Mt. Rushmore and Deadwood, and took time out for a photo with the Examiner at The Last Chance Saloon. For information on upcoming trips, call 593-1511.

Last Updated on Thursday, 30 October 2014

Hits: 1043

50th festivities


Dr. Annette Terebuh, center, joins friends and members of the Columbus-based band Selo, which performs traditional Croatian music and dance, during a Saturday afternoon party to celebrate the 50th anniversary her father, Dr. Josip Terebuh, doing business in Bellefontaine. (EXAMINER PHOTO | REUBEN MEES)

Last Updated on Monday, 27 October 2014

Hits: 3011

ILHS Volley for the Cure raises nearly $3,000


Organizers of the Indian Lake High School’s Volley for the Cure report that the Sept. 30 event raised nearly $3,000 through a silent auction, bake sale, face painting and other activities to benefit breast cancer research. Between games, cancer survivors were recognized on the court. The event was a joint effort of the school’s volleyball team and the FCCLA chapter. Those pictured include Row 1: Jewli Cruz, Tyann Scipio, Winnie Miller; Row 2:  Kalin Harper, Monica Boswell, Sydney Miller, Gabi Maier, Taylor Dixon, Alexis Beck; Row 3:  Olivia Amspaugh, Jenni Kaffenbarger, Aubrey Grider, Tatum Reprogle, Sammi Miller, Kayleigh Heitkamp; and Row 4:  Libby Cotterman, Skylr Timbrook, Michelle Grider, Morgan Evilsizor, Ashley Holycross and Hannah Kilgore. (PHOTO | SUBMITTED)


Last Updated on Monday, 27 October 2014

Hits: 813

Kid Fest costumes


ABOVE: Winners of the costume contest at the Logan County History Center’s Saturday afternoon Kid Fest are ,from left: best overall, Anthony Stamm, 10, dressed as the ghost of a race car driver; cutest, hippie girlBraelyn Wilcoxon, 10; scariest, Jordan Hensley, 10, as marvel superhero Ghost Rider; and the mostoriginal, a boiling pot of spaghetti and meatballs, Justin Kerns, 10. 

FRONT PAGE PHOTO: Tyson Jessel, 6, dressed as Spiderman, and his brother Gage, 2, assisted by his mother, Priscilla Jessel of West Mansfield, make spider

toys from pipe cleaners, plastic ramekins and black cloth during the Saturday afternoon Kid Fest at the Logan County History Center. ((EXAMINER PHOTOS | REUBEN MEES))

Last Updated on Monday, 27 October 2014

Hits: 1077

Poster contest winners


Calvary Christian School students, from the left, fourth-grader Helena Burns, second-grader Thomas Heater, third-graders Megan Gunnett and Karys Varner, K-5 student Sophia Porter and first-grader Lily Studebaker were the winners of the Bellefontaine Fire Department’s annual fire safety poster contest at CCS. The pupils were treated to a pizza lunch and ride on the fire department trucks. (PHOTO | CALVARY CHRISTIAN SCHOOL)

Last Updated on Friday, 24 October 2014

Hits: 1082