Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop



A young runner reacts as volunteer Teryn Forsythe throws a handful of blue paint his way during Benjamin Logan Elementary School’s Color Our Course 2-mile run on Friday evening. (EXAMINER PHOTO | REUBEN MEES)

Last Updated on Sunday, 31 May 2015

Hits: 1114

Golden presentation

BIS-LCCS-donateAmong the presentations Thursday morning at Bellefontaine Intermediate School’s Gold Star Assembly for academic achievement was a check for $4,020 to the Logan County Cancer Society, representing the funds students raised at the school’s recent Walking for Wigs relay event. The amount collected exceeded the goal of between $2,000 and $3,000, organizers said. (SUBMITTED PHOTO)

Last Updated on Thursday, 28 May 2015

Hits: 1146

Discovery Center spring program video available for purchase


The Discovery Center is selling videos of its 2015 spring program for $15 each, and forms have been sent home with students. Nearly 200 children from seven classes participated in the program at the Bellefontaine High School auditorium, which had an “Under the Sea” theme. Bellefontaine High School auditorium. The program also featured a slide show in honor of retiring adaptive physical education instructor Rodney Gillman, who has designed and built the program sets for many years.  (SUBMITTED PHOTO)

Last Updated on Thursday, 28 May 2015

Hits: 624

Ponying up patriotism


Cole Fryling and his horse, Cody, were part of the annual Zane Township Memorial Day Parade. See Tuesday's Examiner for additional stories and photos of local Memorial Day observances.  (PHOTO | PATTI LIVINGSTON)

Last Updated on Tuesday, 26 May 2015

Hits: 973

Yard sale friendships


Peggy Risk, right, and her long-time yard-sale friend, Mary Comer, left, help a customer search through their extensive selection of infant and children’s clothing at their yard sale Friday on Governor’s Island. The two women have been hosting yard sales at Indian Lake for seven years and have a loyal following. Ms. Risk has thought about stopping the activity, but says she would miss everyone she gets to see each year. (EXAMINER PHOTO | BRADEN McGLONE)

Last Updated on Saturday, 23 May 2015

Hits: 1130

Full speed ahead



Scott Mann, an Ohio Peace Officer Training Academy instructor, demonstrates a driving simulator Thursday during driving and firearms training that was offered to area law enforcement officers, including Logan County Sheriff’s deputies, Russells Point and West Liberty police officers, at Robinson Investments Ltd., 901 Henry St. The driving simulator featured a crash scene, officer needs assistance call and a mock pursuit. The instruction was offered through OPOTA Mobile Academy units, which travel to locations throughout the state to offer free hands-on training to law enforcement. The LCSO helped to organize the local stop. (EXAMINER PHOTO | MANDY LOEHR)


Last Updated on Saturday, 23 May 2015

Hits: 790

Painting the hydrants red

Last Updated on Friday, 22 May 2015

Hits: 1069


BHS music awards announced


A number of Bellefontaine High School students received awards during the recent spring concert for the concert and symphonic bands and the concert and symphonic choirs. 


Among the award winners were seniors Parker Neeld, Choral and Band Director’s Award winner; Marci Sebring, National Choral Award and Band Director’s Award; Adam Verbsky National Band Award; and Kenna Wedge, Choral Director’s Award winner.


The bands are under the direction of Nick Pelfrey and assistant band director Jeremy Karg. Choral director is Stacy Calton, with assistance from student intern, Brice Henry, who is the new choral teacher at West Liberty-Salem Schools in the fall.

IMG 8404



Last Updated on Thursday, 21 May 2015

Hits: 827