Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop

RIDGEMONT BOE: New school schematic design work continues

Ridgemont Superintendent Emmy Davis shared updates during Thursday’s board of education meeting regarding recent design meetings for the district’s Ohio School Facilities Commission project to build a new grades pre-K through 12 facility.

Design meetings have included district personnel, students and community members in the discussion of different school spaces, such as teacher and student storage, athletics, family consumer science, agriculture education and flooring.

Ridgemont logo

Within the next three to four weeks, the district will finalize a schematic design.

The board approved an agreement with Stone Environmental Engineering & Science for well work at the current high school for the portion of the building that will still be utilized after the new facility opens.

Additional resolutions were passed to begin soil testing for possible geothermal wells at the new school site along State Route 273 near Mt. Victory, and for professional design services from SHP: Leading Design.

In personnel matters, a two-year contract was extended to Jessica Kroetz as the district’s new elementary school principal to replace retiring principal Harlan Needham, effective Aug. 1. Her salary was set at $70,582.68 per year. She is currently an instructional data coach for Ridgemont.

Members also approved the employment of three new staff members, Angela Stemen, first grade; Teresa Doran, K-12 music; and Ariana Johnson, high school science.

The board approved a the list of 33 seniors who are set to graduate during commencement exercises slated for 7 p.m. May 24.

In other action, the board:

• extended one-year contracts to the following teachers: Rachel Burch, Nick Cox, Jesie Geuy, Kendra Pierson, Britany Schwartzwalder, Emily Spangler, Jill Stover, Teresa Swartz and Amanda Wood;

• extended a one-year contract to Lynn Slone, contingent upon meeting requirements for certification by May 7;

• extended two-year contracts to classified staff members, Frank Galyk and Leigh Ann Newland, lunch cashier, and a one-year contract to Amy Bahr, nurse;

• approved the following internal transfers: Amanda Wood to 7-12 technology;

See SCHOOL on Page 4

Teresa Swartz to 4-6 technology and K-12 special education; and Cheri Vance to K-3 technology and Title I;

• approved a two-year contract with Western Ohio Computer Organization for EMIS services;

• approved a contract with the Hardin County Educational Service Center for preschool disability services at a cost of $29,502.43;

• honored April teenagers of the month Bailey Wagner and Aaron Shepard;

• approved a motion to create the James Payer Scholarship Fund; and

• approved the creation and implement end-of-course exams for the American Government class, as required by the Ohio Revised Code.

The next meeting is 5 p.m. May 23 at the high school library, which will include a public hearing for the consideration of the re-employment of Janet Nelson, junior high science, following her retirement planned for the end of this school year. 

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn