Bellefontaine Examiner

Switch to desktop

Absentee voting begins today

Officials with the Logan County Board of Elections report that absentee voting begins today and runs through May 3 for the May 7 primary election.


The board of elections office is located at 225 S. Main St. Voters must provide proof of identity before voting, and identification can include current and valid photo identification card, military identification, a copy of a utility bill, bank statement, a paycheck, a government check, or a government document showing your name and current address.

Bellefontaine’s second ward is the only area with a contested race where voters can request a political party ballot. All other voters will be voting on issues only and should request an “issues only” ballot.

The following issues and candidates will appear on the May 7 ballot:

• A .75-mill, 10-year additional operating levy submitted by the Logan County Health Board to cover current expenses.

• Stokes Township is seeking a 1.6-mill, five-year renewal levy for fire protection.

• The village of Quincy is asking for two separate additional levies, both 2 mills and five years in duration. If approved, one would cover current expenses and the other would go toward general construction, reconstruction, resurfacing and repair of streets, roads and bridges within the corporation limits.

• Benjamin Logan seeks a 4.6-mill, 10-year additional levy to provide for emergency requirements of the district; and

• West Liberty-Salem wants to renew a 1-percent income tax for three years, beginning in 2014.

County overlapping issues include:

• Waynesfield-Goshen is asking for a 4.9-mill, five-year renewal levy for permanent improvements; and

• Upper Scioto Valley seeks two separate levies. The first is a 3.1-mill, five-year replacement levy for emergency requirements and the second is a 1.7-mill, three-year additional levy for permanent improvements.

Candidates for Bellefontaine City Council include:

President: David Henry, Republican; treasurer: Mark A. Fissel, Democrat; First Ward: David Haw (D); Second Ward: Diane J. Hager (R) and Marcus St. Clair (D); Third Ward: Peter DeSomma (R); Fourth Ward: Jerry Pitzer (D); At-Large: Jim Sanford (D), Allen Hadley (R) and Deborah Baker (R).

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn